Manchester City to begin Premier League title defence at Newcastle United

City to begin title defence at Newcastle
© Getty Images
Manchester City will open their defence of the Premier League title away to Newcastle United on August 16.

Manchester City will open their defence of the Premier League title away to Newcastle United at St James' Park on August 16.

The full list of top-flight fixtures for the 2014-15 campaign has been released, with the champions meeting runners-up Liverpool in the second round of matches at the Etihad Stadium on August 23.

Manuel Pellegrini's side will also face Arsenal and Chelsea in their opening six games, while Louis van Gaal will kick off his reign as Manchester United manager with a home clash against Swansea City at Old Trafford.

The Red Devils will play all three of the newly-promoted sides Burnley, Queens Park Rangers and Leicester City within their first six encounters of the season.

For Liverpool, new signing Rickie Lambert will face his former side Southampton on the opening day of the season at Anfield on August 16, while a trip to Tottenham Hotspur awaits the Reds at the end of the month, and the Merseyside derby against Everton on home turf will be held on September 27.

New boys Burnley will begin their Premier League campaign by hosting Chelsea at Turf Moor on the opening weekend, while Jose Mourinho's side, which will include new signing Cesc Fabregas, await a clash against champions Manchester City on September 30.

Arsenal will host Crystal Palace at the Emirates on the opening day of the season, and will then travel to Goodison Park to go head to head with Roberto Martinez's Everton.

The North London derby between Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur will take place on the same weekend as the Merseyside clash in September, while Manchester United will host the first derby against Manchester City on November 1.

Bayern Munich's Bastian Schweinsteiger sits on the bench during a game with Hoffenheim on March 10, 2012
Read Next:
Premier League club-by-club transfer latest
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
Scottish League Cup
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Premier League 2 - Div 1
Segunda Division
Australian A-League
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Primeira Liga
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig
Major League Soccer
1Manchester CityMan City98103242825
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd96212241820
3Tottenham HotspurSpurs96211961320
7Newcastle UnitedNewcastle9423108214
11Huddersfield TownHuddersfield9333710-312
12Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton9324910-111
13West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom9243710-310
14Leicester CityLeicester92341214-29
15Swansea CitySwansea9225610-48
16West Ham UnitedWest Ham9225817-98
17Stoke CityStoke92251020-108
20Crystal Palace9108219-173