Everton sack Ronald Koeman

Everton sack Ronald Koeman
© Offside
Everton announce that they have sacked manager Ronald Koeman following Sunday's 5-2 defeat at the hands of Arsenal.

Everton have announced that they have sacked manager Ronald Koeman following Sunday's 5-2 defeat at the hands of Arsenal.

The Toffees have endured a torrid start to the season both domestically and in Europe, with yesterday's defeat at Goodison Park leaving them in the relegation zone despite heavy investment during the summer.

Everton spent almost £150m to bring in the likes of Wayne Rooney, Michael Keane, Gylfi Sigurdsson, Jordan Pickford, Davy Klaassen and Sandro Ramirez as they looked to breach the gap to the top six in the Premier League.

However, Koeman leaves having picked up just two Premier League victories all season, while the Merseysiders have also accrued just one point from their three Europa League group games so far this term.

"Everton Football Club can confirm that Ronald Koeman has left the club," read a statement on Twitter.

"Chairman Bill Kenwright, the board of directors and major shareholders Farhad Moshiri would all like to express their gratitude to Ronald for the service he has given to the club over the past 16 months and for guiding the club to seventh place in last season's Premier League campaign."

Koeman took charge at Goodison Park in June 2016 and went on to win 24 of his 58 games in charge, drawing 14 and losing 20.

Everton, who are winless in their last five matches across all competitions including four at home, face Chelsea in the EFL Cup fourth round on Wednesday night.

Ronald Koeman chats to Wayne Rooney during the Premier League game between Manchester City and Everton on August 21, 2017
Read Next:
Koeman has faith in summer signings
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Manchester CityMan City1211104073334
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd128222762126
4Tottenham HotspurSpurs127232091123
9Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton124441313016
10Huddersfield TownHuddersfield12435817-915
11Newcastle UnitedNewcastle124261114-314
12Leicester CityLeicester123451618-213
15Stoke CityStoke123451524-913
17West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom12246918-910
18West Ham UnitedWest Ham122371125-149
19Swansea CitySwansea12228715-88
20Crystal Palace12129624-185