MX23RW : Monday, September 20 21:24:53| >> :120:37551:37551:
Jul 30, 1966 at 4pm UK at Wembley Stadium
Attendance: 96,924
W. GermanyWest Germany
Hurst (18', 101', 120'), Peters (78')
Haller (12'), Weber (89')

1966 World Cup final: Who were England's World Cup-winning XI?

Ahead of the 1966 World Cup final being replayed in full, Sports Mole looks at who featured for England on their greatest ever day.

Football fans will have the chance to relive the greatest day in England's sporting history this afternoon when the 1966 World Cup final is replayed in full on Channel 4.

The broadcast, which will be in black and white like the original, will be in support of the National Emergencies Trust Coronavirus Appeal with fans having the chance to donate as they watch along.

Hat-trick hero Sir Geoff Hurst will give his insights during the match, while former England player and manager Glenn Hoddle will also pass comment.

Here, Sports Mole looks at each member of Sir Alf Ramsey's 'Wingless Wonders' from that historic and iconic day in 1966.

Gordon Banks

Gordon Banks pictured in March 2017© Reuters

Nicknamed 'the Banks of England' because he was so safe, one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time and producer of arguably the greatest save of all time against Pele in 1970 - incidentally 50 years ago to this very day.

A Leicester City and Stoke City stalwart in his playing career, Banks went on to win 73 England caps and remains the barometer by which all subsequent English keepers are measured.

George Cohen

A one-club man with Fulham and a right-back whose three-year international career just happened to span the greatest period in English football history.

Cohen has a unique link with another English World Cup success as the uncle of 2003 Rugby World Cup winner Ben Cohen.

Jack Charlton

Leeds United's record appearance-maker who enjoyed a 21-year career at Elland Road, but did not make his England debut until the year before the World Cup aged just shy of 30.

Went on to play 35 times for his country, often alongside his brother Bobby.

Bobby Moore

England captain Bobby Moore on shoulders of teammates holding aloft the Jules Rimet trophy in 1966© Reuters

The icon. The leader. The legend. Bobby Moore remains the only Englishman to raise the FIFA World Cup aloft and is widely regarded as one of the greatest centre-backs to have ever played the game.

Was made captain at the age of just 23, retired with a then-record 108 caps to his name and is immortalised with a statue outside Wembley.

Pele himself cites Moore as the toughest defender he ever faced, and the West Ham United stalwart remains one of the most revered figures in the game.

Ray Wilson

The oldest member of the team from the 1966 final, Wilson was England's first-choice left-back for the best part of eight years before injury saw him lose his spot.

He won 63 caps for England and also won the FA Cup with Everton in 1966, the only two trophies of his career.

Nobby Stiles

The toothless terrier who stifled the legendary Eusebio in the semi-final and marked victory over West Germany by dancing a jig of delight on the Wembley turf - one of the most enduring images of the day.

A Manchester United stalwart, 1966 World Cup ever-present and one of only three Englishmen to have won the World Cup and European Cup.

Nevertheless, Stiles only won a modest 28 caps for his country - the fewest of any of this starting XI.

Alan Ball

Alan Ball pictured as part of England's 1966 World Cup-winning team© Reuters

The youngest member of the squad at 21, but take away Hurst's hat-trick and he would have been the man of the match in the final.

A perfect exponent of Ramsey's wingless tactics, Ball was an inexhaustible bundle of energy throughout the full 120 minutes at Wembley and was everywhere during extra time, when many of those around him were understandably tiring.

Bobby Charlton

Bobby Charlton pictured in 1966© Reuters

England's star man, even ahead of Moore. The younger Charlton brother scored twice in the semi-final against Portugal, but he and Franz Beckenbauer effectively marked each other out of the final.

Despite that, Charlton won the Ballon d'Or in 1966 and went on to retire as the record appearance-maker and goalscorer for both England and Manchester United.

A survivor of the Munich air disaster just eight years before the World Cup win, Charlton is arguably the finest footballer England has ever produced.

Martin Peters

Martin Peters pictured in 1966© Reuters

'The Ghost of 66' - Peters shares the honour with fellow West Ham legend Hurst as being the only Englishman to score in a FIFA World Cup final, and for a while it looked as though his strike would be the winner.

Ramsey once described the midfielder as being "ten years ahead of his time" and, having entered the 1966 World Cup with only three caps to his name, he went on to become an integral part of the team.

Geoff Hurst

Sir Geoff Hurst scores England's fourth goal in the 1966 World Cup final© Reuters

The hat-trick hero of Wembley and still the only man to score three times in a World Cup final, Hurst's name is cemented in legend now but he was by no means a central figure in the squad at the start of the tournament.

Jimmy Greaves was England's undisputed star striker until he picked up an injury during the World Cup and, despite recovering in time for the final, Hurst was controversially preferred and the rest is history.

A member of West Ham's holy trinity alongside Moore and Peters, Hurst retired with 24 goals in 49 games for the Three Lions.

Roger Hunt

Hurst stole the show in the final, Greaves made headlines courtesy of his omission, but over the whole course of the tournament Hunt was arguably the most important striker of the lot for England.

The Liverpool legend was England's joint top-scorer in the tournament heading into the final and was an ever-present throughout - winning six of his 34 caps that summer.

Manager: Alf Ramsey

Legendary England manager Sir Alf Ramsey pictured in 1970© Reuters

The man who made it all happen - Alf Ramsey is one of the most important figures in English football history.

Having taken Ipswich Town from the Third Division to champions of England, he took over as England boss in 1963 and wrestled control of selection from the committee - a seminal moment.

Ramsey's wingless 4-4-2 system was revolutionary at a time when wingers were often the stars and he produced the perfect team talk at the perfect time after West Germany's last-gasp equaliser to force extra time.

> Read the full story of the match by clicking here

ID:401714: cacheID:401714:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:11929:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
England captain Bobby Moore on shoulders of teammates holding aloft the Jules Rimet trophy in 1966
Read Next:
1966 World Cup final: The story of the game

rhs 2.0
Todays Game Header Right
3Manchester UnitedMan Utd5410134913
4Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton540174312
5Manchester CityMan City53111111010
7Tottenham HotspurSpurs530236-39
8West Ham UnitedWest Ham522111748
10Aston Villa52128717
12Leicester CityLeicester520358-36
14Crystal Palace512258-35
16Wolverhampton WanderersWolves510425-33
17Leeds UnitedLeeds5032512-73
18Newcastle UnitedNewcastle5023613-72
20Norwich CityNorwich5005214-120

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!