MX23RW : Friday, February 23 06:01:12| >> :600:106464:106464:

West Indies beat England in one-day international series decider

West Indies beat England in ODI series decider
© Reuters
England succumb to a 2-1 one-day international series defeat to West Indies after losing a decider by four wickets that was impacted by rain.

West Indies have recorded a one-day international series victory over England after winning the deciding contest by four wickets on Saturday.

Rain in Barbados led to a delayed start and a match that would be impacted by the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method, yet the home side will not care as they earned a notable 2-1 success over the 2019 world champions.

Debutant Matthew Forde (3-29) was the star of the show, blitzing through England's top order to put the tourists on the back foot throughout the contest.

England were reduced to 49-5 as Phil Salt (4), Will Jacks (17), Zak Crawley (0), Harry Brook (1) and Jos Buttler (0) were all dismissed.

A superb 71 from 73 from Ben Duckett, a disciplined 45 from Liam Livingstone and each of the final four batsmen all scoring more than 12 took England up to 206-9 off their 40 overs.

However, there was always the feeling that they were underdogs, despite Gus Atkinson striking early with the ball, and each of Alick Athanaze (45) and Keacy Carty (50) helped put West Indies in control.

More rain helped West Indies' cause, leaving them requiring 188 from 34 overs, but Jacks (3-22) and Rehan Ahmed (1-37) instigated an England resurgence, making them marginal favourites when West Indies were 135-6.

Shai Hope was only able to make 15, but Romario Shepherd produced another destructive innings, making 41 from 28, and he was aided by an unbeaten 13 from Forde at the other end as West Indies got home with 14 balls to spare.

ID:531023:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect4013:
Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
England's Moeen Ali pictured in action on September 1, 2020
Read Next:
England withstand West Indies barrage to win second T20