Result: England lose Women's World Twenty20 final

England are beaten by six wickets by Australia in the final of the Women's World Twenty20.

England have lost by six wickets to Australia in the final of the Women's World Twenty20 in Dhaka.

The Aussies made light work of reaching their target of 106 runs to claim their third consecutive title.

England were put into bat first, making 105-8 before Australia clinched the win with just under five overs remaining.

Heather Knight (29) was the top scorer for England, but disappointing knocks from Sarah Taylor (18) and Charlotte Edwards (13) left the team with plenty of work to do in the middle and lower order.

However, Amy Jones (12) was the only other player to get into double figures as England posted a modest score at the crease.

Sarah Coyte was the pick of the Australian bowlers with three wickets, while Rene Farrell and Ellyse Perry claimed two victims apiece.

Elyse Villani (12) and Jess Jonassen (15) saw the Aussies get off to a steady start out in the middle, but it was Meg Lanning's 44 and Perry's 31 not out that helped them power towards the winning target.

Natalie Sciver took took wickets for England, with Anya Shrubsole and Jenny Gunn also getting in on the act.

Jess Jonassen of Australia celebrates the wicket of Natalie Sciver of England during game two of the International Twenty20 series between Australia and England at Melbourne Cricket Ground on January 31, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Australia thrash England's women in second T20
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account