Unchanged England insert Sri Lanka at Headingley

An unchanged England win the toss and insert Sri Lanka, who make two changes for the second Test at Headingley, with Dinesh Chandimal and Dhammika Prasad recalled.

England have won the toss and asked Sri Lanka to bat first in the second Test at Headingley today.

The hosts stick with the same XI that came one wicket short of victory at Lord's in the opening Test of the summer last week, with no frontline spinner included.

Ian Bell is making his 100th appearance for England in the longest format and was presented with a ceremonial cap by former skipper Andrew Strauss prior to the toss.

Sri Lanka make two changes to their side, with wicketkeeper Prasana Jayawardene missing out because of a broken thumb and Dinesh Chandimal coming in to extend the batting lineup, while Dhammika Prasad replaces Nuwan Kulasekara in the seam department.

Play is scheduled to begin at 11am in Yorkshire.

England: Cook (c), Robson, Ballance, Bell, Root, Ali, Prior, Jordan, Broad, Plunkett, Anderson

Sri Lanka: Karunaratne, Silva, Sangakkara, M. Jayawardene, Thirimane, Mathews (c), Chandimal (wk), Prasad, Herath, Eranga, Pradeep

Harry Gurney of England bowls during the 1st Royal London One Day International match between England and Sri Lanka at The Kia Oval on May 22, 2014
Read Next:
Result: England set 257 to beat Sri Lanka
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account