MX23RW : Thursday, April 15 23:08:26| >> :600:188331:188331:

Switch-hit given okay by ICC

The International Cricket Council declare the switch-hit as a legitimate shot after controversy involving Kevin Pietersen earlier this year.

The International Cricket Council have given the green light for the switch-hit shot to continue.

Right-handed England batsman Kevin Pietersen first unveiled the shot, in which he switches his stance and grip to hit as a left-handed batsman.

However, Pietersen was warned by umpires on day three of the second Test against Sri Lanka in April for time wasting, because bowler Tillakaratne Dilshan chose not to release the ball when he saw the batsman shape to play the switch-hit.

An ICC statement said: "The committee decided to make no change to the current regulations."

Pietersen recently announced his retirement from all limited-overs forms of the game.

ID:29361: cacheID:29361:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:1204:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Kevin Pietersen
Read Next:
Pietersen retires from one-day cricket
>
Read more about Kevin Pietersen Cricket

rhs 2.0

Subscribe to our Newsletter


Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!