Eight England players up for Cricketer of the Year

Eight England players up for Cricketer of the Year
© PA Photos
Eight England crickets nominated for the ICC Cricketer of the Year.

Eight of England's cricketers have been nominated for the ICC's Cricketer of the Year award.

Andrew Strauss heads the shortlist after captaining England's first Test series success in Australia in 24 years last winter.

The left-hander is joined by fellow opener Alastair Cook - after his return of 766 runs at 127.66 in Australia - in addition to Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and James Anderson as England dominated the list of 17 players.

Trott and Swann are England's only nominees in the One-Day award, while Trott is also in a select five-man group eligible for the People's Choice Award alongside India's World Cup-winning skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Kumar Sangakkara, Chris Gayle and Hashim Amla.

This award will be chosen by fans from around the world via the ICC website.

The winners will be named at a ceremony in London on September 12.

Andrew Strauss
Read Next:
England take four wickets in morning session
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account