Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson, Graeme Swann dropped by England

Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson and Graeme Swann will all be rested for England's upcoming limited-overs series against Australia next year.

England will rest the senior trio of Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson and Graeme Swann for their limited-overs series in Australia.

All three players will focus on retaining their place in the Three Lions' Ashes squad, rather than try to earn a spot for the matches in January and February.

The tourists will play five one-day internationals and three Twenty20 games against the Baggy Greens, with Alastair Cook leading the side in the ODIs, while Stuart Broad retains his captaincy for the latter.

"Our players that play all three forms of the game cannot play constantly 12 months of the year," England head coach Andy Flower told reporters.

"Guys like Anderson and Pietersen are in their early 30s now and prized assets and we need to look after our prized assets.

"From a physical perspective they are always dealing with various niggles and sometimes they need to be taken out of competition."

The third Test of the Ashes gets underway at The WACA in Perth on December 13.

England ODI squad: AN Cook (Captain), GS Ballance, IR Bell, RS Bopara, TT Bresnan, DR Briggs, SCJ Broad, JC Buttler (wkt), MA Carberry, ST Finn, CJ Jordan, EJG Morgan, WB Rankin, JE Root, BA Stokes, JC Tredwell.

England Twenty20 squad: SCJ Broad (Captain), RS Bopara, TT Bresnan, DR Briggs, JC Buttler (wkt), JW Dernbach, ST Finn, AD Hales, MJ Lumb, EJG Morgan, WB Rankin, JE Root, BA Stokes, JC Tredwell, LJ Wright.

England's Steven Finn celebrates after dismissing Australia's Michael Clarke during the 4th Natwest Series One Day International on September 14, 2013
Read Next:
Willis: 'England need Finn's pace in Perth'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account