Result: Defending champion Andy Murray exits Wimbledon

Britain's Andy Murray reacts to losing a point against Bulgaria's Grigor Dimitrov during their men's singles quarter-final match on day nine of the 2014 Wimbledon Championships at The All England Tennis Club in Wimbledon, southwest London, on July 2, 2014
© Getty Images
Last year's champion Andy Murray is knocked out of Wimbledon at the quarter-final stage by Grigor Dimitrov.

Andy Murray's bid to defend his Wimbledon title has been ended at the quarter-final stage this afternoon courtesy of a 6-1 7-6(4) 6-2 defeat at the hands of Grigor Dimitrov.

Murray held his opening service game on Centre Court, but Dimitrov's power and movement was superior from very early on.

It meant that it came as little surprise when the Bulgarian broke for a 3-1 lead, before going on to win the next three games in a row to take the first set in just 26 minutes.

There was more fight from Murray during the second set, but he was often on the back foot. Breaks were exchanged midway through the set, which eventually entered into a tie-break. Once again Dimitrov, seeded 11th, dominated and made it count with a 7-4 triumph.

The trend continued in the third set, with Murray handing Dimitrov his first break thanks to a double fault. A second break followed at 5-2 to Dimitrov, who secured his route into the semi-finals in the process.

He will now take on either Novak Djokovic or Marin Cilic for a place in the final. As for Murray, he will not play in the last four at SW19 for the first time since 2008.

Andy Murray of Great Britain plays a forehand return during his Gentlemen's Singles third round match against Roberto Bautista Agut of Spain on day five of the Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Championships at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club on June 27,
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Murray vs. Dimitrov - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060