Result: David Goffin sends Novak Djokovic packing in Monte Carlo

David Goffin celebrates winning his third-round match at the French Open on May 28, 2016
© Getty Images
David Goffin claims the scalp of second seed Novak Djokovic, earning a 6-2 3-6 7-5 victory to progress into the semi-finals of the Monte Carlo Masters.

Second seed Novak Djokovic has exited the Monte Carlo Masters at the quarter-final stage following defeat in three sets to David Goffin this evening.

The 29-year-old battled back to take the contest to a deciding set, but he fell short in what was his third clay-court match of the year since recovering from an elbow problem.

Goffin required five match points to get over the line, claiming the scalp of another top seed by eventually prevailing 6-2 3-6 7-5 in a match lasting two hours and 40 minutes.

Djokovic lost serve in the opening game of the contest and struggled to truly hit back, with a second break in the fifth game giving his opponent a strong foothold on the match.

The second set proved to be a real battle, which the Serbian pro took with his fourth set point after Goffin - ranked 13th in the world - refused to give up.

Goffin's big chance looked to have eluded him when Djokovic earned a break of serve in the opening game of the deciding set, but the Belgian pegged his opponent back at 5-5 to pave the way for a tense finale.

After squandering chance after chance to get over the line, Goffin finally did so with a fifth match point to book his place in the last four, where either Rafael Nadal or Diego Schwartzman awaits.

Rafael Nadal exclaims to the heavens after making it through to the third round of the US Open on September 3, 2015
Read Next:
Rafael Nadal hits back at critics
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray9,390
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,285
3Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka6,175
4Serbia Novak Djokovic5,805
5Switzerland Roger Federer4,765
6Canada Milos Raonic4,150
7Croatia Marin Cilic4,025
8Austria Dominic Thiem3,895
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,785
10France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga3,040
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov2,980
12Alexander Zverev2,860
13Belgium David Goffin2,785
14Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,570
15Lucas Pouille2,570
16France Gael Monfils2,545
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,360
18United States Jack Sock2,335
19Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,110
20Australia Nick Kyrgios2,110