Felipe Massa admits Lotus and McLaren talks

Felipe Massa of Brazil and Ferrari attends the drivers parade before the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix at the Yas Marina Circuit on November 3, 2013
© Getty Images
Felipe Massa says that he has "chosen the right team" by joining Williams ahead of next season, despite holding talks with several other outfits.

Felipe Massa has confessed that he held talks with a number of Formula 1 teams before opting to chose Williams ahead of next season.

Having been axed by Ferrari in favour of Kimi Raikkonen in September, Williams confirmed on Monday that the Brazilian would drive with them in 2014.

Massa admits that he wasn't short of options having held talks with Lotus, McLaren, Force India and Sauber before joining his new team.

"I'm very happy to be here and to start a new part of my career with Williams," Massa told Sky Sports News. "I had a very long and nice time with Ferrari but now I'm really happy to move to Williams. I have a lot to give to this team.

"It's the beginning of a new F1 with the new rules, it will be completely different in 2014 compared to 2013 and the rules change will be bigger than ever. I'm really looking forward to a good car. I'm happy to be here and believe I've chosen the right team.

"I'm very lucky to be moving to a very famous team in Formula 1. It's a very difficult time for Williams this year but the most important thing is that they want to go back to how they were before. I want to help them grow and take the Williams name back to first place and the podium."

Massa will be in action during the United States Grand Prix on Sunday.

Ferrari driver Felipe Massa in the pits on August 23, 2013
Read Next:
Massa agrees Williams switch?
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0