Brabham 'planning F1 return with backing from fans'

Australian motor racing ace Sir Jack Brabham poses prior to setting out onto the track at the New Zealand A1 Grand Prix at Taupo Race Track on January 20, 2007
© Getty Images
Brabham could be set to return to the F1 grid, using investment from fans to compete in the sport.

Brabham, one of Formula 1's most iconic teams, is planning to return to Grand Prix racing by asking fans to buy a stake in the constructor.

The famous marque has not appeared on the grid since Damon Hill made his bow for the team in 1992, prior to joining Williams.

However, David Brabham is hoping to revive the brand and is hoping that a unique way of raising funds will make the company more sustainable as it looks to compete.

He is quoted by Sky Sports News as saying: "I have long dreamt of seeing the Brabham team back out on the track, winning at the highest level and continuing the legacy my father laid down when he first started the team in the Sixties.

"Looking at the normal racing model was not exciting or sustainable enough for me to rebuild the team from scratch. For me to bring Brabham back we have to do things differently.

"We will open the door to people and share the incredible journey that awaits us. I am a big believer in the power of collective thinking and see many advantages in this model that will help Brabham become a winning team once again, but in a new and inspiring way".

Brabham's father Sir Jack Brabham made his name in the sport by winning three world titles in eight years.

Upon lifting his third drivers' crown, Sir Jack also became the only man to be world champion in a car he built himself.

Lewis Hamilton gives the thumbs up after securing pole postion in qualifying for the Belgium GP on August 24, 2013
Read Next:
On this day: Hamilton wins world championship
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0