Nico Rosberg signs new long-term deal with Mercedes

Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP celebrates on the podium after winning the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Albert Park on March 16, 2014
© Getty Images
Nico Rosberg, who currently leads the Formula 1 drivers' championship, signs a new long-term contract with Mercedes.

Mercedes have announced that Nico Rosberg has put pen to paper on a new long-term contract with the Formula 1 team.

The 29-year-old is in title competition with his teammate Lewis Hamilton, but the German currently leads the way at the top of the drivers' championship standings.

Ahead of this weekend's German Grand Prix, Rosberg has expressed his pride at extending his association with the team.

"As a German, the heritage of Mercedes-Benz is very special for me, and I am proud to be able to represent the best car brand in the world," said Rosberg.

"We have an awesome team and I am confident that we have the right people in place at every level. I'm looking forward to the next years together, when we will keep pushing to win even more races and hopefully championships."

Head of Mercedes Toto Wolff added: "His speed, commitment and focus have all helped to give clear direction and to drive the team forward. With his performances in 2014, Nico has demonstrated to the outside world what we already knew in the team - that he is one of the very top drivers in Formula 1."

Rosberg has earned six victories, 17 podium finishes and eight pole positions since joining the team in 2010.

Red Bull Racing's German driver Sebastian Vettel walks off the circuit after winning the qualifying session for the United States Formula One Grand Prix at Circuit of The Americas on November 16, 2013
Read Next:
Vettel: 'We must close gap quicker'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0