Niki Lauda hails "outstanding" Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes celebrates with a bottle of champagne after winning the F1 Chinese Grand Prix on April 20, 2014
Niki Lauda hails Lewis Hamilton's "outstanding" current form following his victory at the Chinese Grand Prix.

Three-time Formula 1 world champion Niki Lauda has hailed Lewis Hamilton's "outstanding" current form.

The 29-year-old Mercedes driver won the Chinese Grand Prix at the weekend to record his third win in succession this season.

"Lewis was outstanding. A good start and off he went," Lauda is quoted as saying by Sporting Life. "His outstanding performance in the wet [in qualifying] made the win happen.

"Nico [Rosberg] screwed up in the wet, which is why he was where he was at the start and he could not win any more. I have to say the way Lewis is driving, from the first race until now, for me is outstanding. The guy makes no mistakes.

"He is absolutely on top of everything, he understands the car, which is complicated, more complicated than in the past, he understands the tyres and drives in the absolutely perfect way on the edge. He is on a high like I have never seen from him before."

The F1 season resumes on May 11 with the Spanish Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP (L) celebrates on the podium with second placed Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP after the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 30, 2014
Read Next:
Hamilton emphasises team effort in China
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0