Result: Nico Rosberg goes fastest in first practice

Nico Rosberg
© PA Photos
Marcedes driver Nico Rosberg is quickest in the first practice session for the Chinese Grand Prix.

Nico Rosberg has recorded the quickest time of the first practice session ahead of Sunday's Chinese Grand Prix at the Shanghai International Circuit.

The German, who won this race last year, got his Mercedes around the track in a time of 1.36.717 to edge out his teammate Lewis Hamilton, who came across the line in second.

Red Bull duo Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel finished third and fourth respectively, while Ferrari's Fernando Alonso came home in fifth.

Jenson Button, Felipe Massa, Adrian Sutil, Romain Grosjean and Paul di Resta completed the top 10.

Full standings:

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
3. Mark Webber (Red Bull)
4. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
6. Jenson Button (McLaren)
7. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
8. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
9. Romain Grosjean (Lotus Renault)
10. Paul di Resta (Force India)
11. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus Renault)
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
13. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)
14. Nico Hulkenberg (Sauber)
15. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)
16. Sergio Perez (McLaren)
17. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
18. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
19. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
20. Max Chilton (Marussia)
21. Giemo van der Garde (Caterham)
22. Ma Qing-Hua (Caterham)

Sebastian Vettel
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Australian Grand Prix - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0