Kimi Raikkonen to miss end of season

Kimi Raikkonen of Finland and Lotus is interviewed in the paddock by the media during previews to the Hungarian Formula One Grand Prix at Hungaroring on July 25, 2013
© Getty Images
Kimi Raikkonen's manager reveals that the Finnish driver will miss the last two races of the season for Lotus as he requires back surgery.

The manager of Kimi Raikkonen has revealed that the Finn will skip the final two races of the season to undergo an operation on his injured back.

The 34-year-old has now likely driven his last race in a Lotus Renault car, as he will move to Ferrari to partner Fernando Alonso for the 2014 campaign.

Raikkonen's representative, Steve Robertson, has admitted that his client is disappointed to leave his current team in this fashion, but increasing discomfort in recent weeks meant that surgery was necessary.

He told the publication Turun Sanomat: "In an ideal world it would have been nice to finish the season with Lotus. However, due to the severe pain that Kimi is having, sadly it is not possible."

Raikkonen stands third in the drivers' standings, having recorded seven podium finishes, including a victory in the season-opening Grand Prix in Australia, this year.

Red Bull Racing's drivers German Sebastian Vettel and Australian Mark Webber and Mercedes' German driver Niko Rosberg poses after winning the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix on November 3, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Vettel wins again in Abu Dhabi
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0