Kimi Raikkonen defends Lotus decision

Kimi Raikkonen
© PA Photos
Kimi Raikkonen blames himself for not winning the Bahrain GP rather than Lotus's decision to not order Romain Grosjean to let the Finn past.

Kimi Raikkonen has defended his Lotus team's decision not to order Romain Grosjean to allow the Finn to overtake in Sunday's Bahrain Grand Prix.

Raikkonen crossed second to record his first podium finish since returning to the sport this year, but was only three seconds behind race winner Sebastian Vettel.

Critics have pointed out that he may have won the race should he not have been held up by teammate Grosjean at an important stage of the race.

However, Raikkonen agrees with Lotus's call not to order the Frenchman to move aside and instead has blamed himself for not claiming victory.

"There are no team orders and I tried to get past as quickly as I could, but it's not easy because we have two similar cars," Raikkonen told Sky Sports News.

"It's always easy afterwards to say 'if we had done that', but in the end we were not fast enough to win and we have to take second.

"We gave ourselves a chance and it's a bit disappointing not to win, but at least we got the podium with both cars. After the last race, people probably thought we were a bit stupid, and after yesterday, but it turned out to be the right decision and I think the team deserve what we have achieved."

Read how the race unfolded here.

Sebastian Vettel
Read Next:
Result: Vettel wins in Bahrain
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0