Stefano Domenicali: 'Ferrari among the leaders'

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso crashes and ends up on the gravel during the Malaysian Grand Prix on March 24, 2013
© AP Photos
Ferrari team principal Stefano Domenicali believes that Ferrari are among the frontrunners after the first two races of the 2013 Formula 1 season.

Stefano Domenicali has said that he believes Ferrari are among the leaders during the early stages of the 2013 Formula 1 season.

The Italian team is level on points with Lotus in the constructors' championship after the opening two races of the year, behind only Red Bull.

The Ferrari team principal told Sky Sports News: "I don't know exactly where [we are], but for sure between the leaders. For sure Red Bull, in my view, is still the strongest at the moment, but we will see.

"There are tracks where our car will perform better, there are certain tracks where some others will perform better than ours. Mercedes have done a step, Lotus is very competitive. It will be an interesting and challenging season, but we will be there, no doubt.

"At the end of the day the championship is very long and it is important to stay cool and calm and make sure from the package we deliver the best. In terms of development, of course as everyone will do, we will try to develop the car and this is the target for every race."

Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso sit fifth and sixth the drivers' standings.

Ferrari drivers Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa pose for a photo during the paddock of the Interlagos race track on November 22, 2012
Read Next:
Massa confident of ending long drought
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0