Niki Lauda: "Formula 1 is over-regulated"

Niki Lauda watches the action during final practice ahead of the Canadian Formula One Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve on June 7, 2014
© Getty Images
Niki Lauda launches a verbal attack on Formula 1 chiefs as the British Grand Prix is halted for an hour on safety grounds.

Mercedes non-executive chairman Niki Lauda has criticised Formula 1 bosses following a lengthy stoppage at this afternoon's British Grand Prix.

A crash on the opening lap between Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa in the Williams resulted in the former of those two crashing into the barriers, which suffered significant damage.

The race did not restart until the repairs were carried out on safety grounds, which meant that the action was stopped for an hour.

When asked for his view on the situation, Lauda told BBC Sport: "Formula 1 is over-regulated. It's all crazy. To stop the race for one hour because one of the barriers is damaged is ridiculous. They are never going to hit it again.

"The chances of it happening again are zero. They take care of every little detail and a lot of people will switch the television off."

Sports Mole's live text coverage from Silverstone can be followed here.

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso during the final practice session for the Italian Grand Prix at Monza on September 7, 2013
Read Next:
Alonso: 'Ferrari tyre change too late'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0