Sep 30, 2013 at 7.45pm UK at ​St Mirren Park
St Mirren
Thompson (55')
McGinn (30')
FT(HT: 0-0)
Pawlett (85')
Zola (41')

Result: St Mirren denied first win by Aberdeen

Aberdeen manager Derek McInnes jogs onto the pitch during the Pre Season Friendly match between Aberdeen and FC Twente at Pittodrie Stadium on July 26, 2013
© Getty Images
Aberdeen score an 85th-minute equaliser to rescue a 1-1 draw against St Mirren, denying the hosts their first win of the season.

St Mirren have been denied their first win of the season by an 85th-minute Aberdeen equaliser that made it 1-1 in their Scottish Premiership encounter.

The hosts enjoyed the first chance of the match just before the half-hour mark when John McGinn shot from the edge of the box, but Jamie Langfield was equal to the effort.

St Mirren did take the lead 10 minutes after the restart, however, as Steven Thompson bundled the ball past Langfield from close range after being found by Paul McGowan's pass.

Christopher Dilo then kept his side ahead with a fine save from a Jonathan Hayes free kick from 25 yards out.

Aberdeen almost gifted a second goal to the hosts with a little over 15 minutes remaining when a defensive error allowed Conor Newton to tee up Kenny McLean, but his shot whistled past the post.

The visitors had a chance to equalise in the 84th minute when another defensive lapse allowed Niall McGinn in, but his effort came back off the post.

They did manage to find the equaliser just five minutes from time, however, as Peter Pawlett ended a goalmouth scramble with a half volley to make it 1-1 and rescue a point for Aberdeen.

Peter Pawlett of Aberdeen celebrates his goal with his team-mates during the Pre Season Friendly match between Aberdeen and FC Twente on July 26 ,2013
Read Next:
Live Commentary: St Mirren 1-1 Aberdeen - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Premier League
League One
League Two
National League
Scottish Premiership
Scottish Championship
Scottish League One
Scottish League Two
La Liga
Serie A
Ligue 1
Belgian Pro League
Greek Superleague
Russian Premier League
Turkish Super Lig