Wales boss Chris Coleman: 'Gareth Bale is not a diver'

Gareth Bale scores a brace
© PA Photos
Wales manager Chris Coleman believes that the focus should be on defenders attempting fouls as opposed to Gareth Bale's alleged diving.

Wales manager Chris Coleman has jumped to the defence of winger Gareth Bale following claims that the Tottenham Hotspur player dived during the Welsh side's win over Scotland last week.

The 23-year-old was awarded a penalty after going down in the box during the 80th minute of Friday's 2014 World Cup clash against the Scots, ensuring a vital 2-1 victory for the home side.

"I know the finger has been pointed at Gareth once or twice but he didn't dive on Friday," the Daily Star quotes Coleman as saying. "He was running at great pace and the back of his heel was clipped.

"I know it is a big debate in the game at the moment, simulation, but flip a coin and ask in a game - how many times does Gareth get booted, stopped, and the foul is not in the rules but players get away with it?

"If anything you need referees to understand the way that defenders are trying to bend the rules to prevent him from doing the things he is capable of."

Bale was also criticised last weekend for diving for a foul during Spurs' 2-0 win over Aston Villa.

Wales training
Read Next:
Preview: Croatia vs. Wales
>
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole



Tables