Feb 23, 2013 at 2.30pm UK
Hamburger SV
Huszti (39' pen.), Ya Konan (45', 68'), Abdellaoue (85'), Biram Diouf (7')
Hoffmann (87')
FT(HT: 3-1)
Van der Vaart (13' pen.)

Result: Hannover down Hamburg

Hamburg's Artjoms Rudnevs in action against Borussia Dortmund on September 22, 2012
© AP Photos
Didier Ya Konan scores twice in Hannover's 5-1 win against Hamburg at home in the Bundesliga.

Hannover have registered a comfortable 5-1 victory over Hamburg at home in the Bundesliga.

The home side surged ahead after just seven minutes when Mame Biram Diouf headed home Szabolcs Huszti's delivery from close range.

That lead lasted until the 13th minute, when Hamburg equalised from the penalty spot.

Johan Djourou brought down Dennis Aogo inside the Hannover area and Rafael van der Vaart made no mistake from 12 yards.

The home side themselves earned a spot kick on 39 minutes when Rene Adler was adjudged to have committed a foul on Sergio Pinto.

Huszti coolly dispatched the penalty to put Hannover 2-1 ahead.

However, Huszti was forced to come off three minutes later with an injury, but that did not deter Hannover from going 3-1 up on the stroke of half time, Didier Ya Konan firing in from outside the box.

Hamburg had chances to get something from the game in the opening minutes of the second half, thanks to efforts from Van der Vaart, Son Heung-Min and Slobodan Rajkovic, but failed to make them count.

Instead it was Hannover who scored the game's fifth goal, Ya Konan finding the target from the centre of the Hamburg box in the 68th minute.

Mohammed Abdellaoue wrapped up the points for Hannover five minutes from time with a left-footed shot from the left side of the box.

Rafael Van der Vaart, Joao Pereira
Read Next:
Team News: Van der Vaart starts for Hamburg
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Borussia DortmundDortmund11003033
2Bayern Munich11003123
3Hertha Berlin11002023
4Schalke 04Schalke11002023
6Borussia MonchengladbachBorussia M'bach11001013
7Hamburger SV11001013
9Eintracht FrankfurtFrankfurt10100001
12FC Koln100101-10
13Mainz 05100101-10
14Werder Bremen100101-10
15Bayer LeverkusenB. Leverkusen100113-20
16RB Leipzig100102-20