Result: India beat Australia by six wickets

Result: India win by six wickets
© Getty Images
Yuvraj Singh hits 77 runs off 35 balls to help India beat Australia by six wickets in their Twenty20 international.

India have defeated Australia by six wickets in the Twenty20 international in Rajkot.

The hosts won the toss and elected to field, but Australia got off to a good start as they hit 48 runs inside the opening four overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar made the first breakthrough when he claimed the wicket of Nic Maddinson (34) before Shane Watson was dismissed for six.

Vinay Kumar claimed the wicket of captain George Bailey for a duck before Brad Haddin (5) and Moises Henriques (12) were dismissed in quick succession.

Aaron Finch's knock of 89 off 52 balls helped to keep the run-rate ticking over, with Glenn Maxwell also playing his part by hitting 27 off 13 balls.

Australia's innings came to an end as they set their hosts 202 to win.

India suffered an early blow when Rohit Sharma (8) was caught out by Haddin off the bowling of Clint McKay, but Suresh Raina and Shikar Dhawan steadied the ship to reach 50-1.

Raina was caught by Watson off the bowling of Nathan Coulter-Nile for 19 runs before Dhawan was stumped by Haddin for 32, leaving India on 83-3.

Virat Kholi hit 29 off 22 balls before being caught by McKay off James Faulkner.

Yuvraj Singh was the top scorer for the hosts, hitting an impressive 77 runs off 35 balls, which included eight fours and five sixes.

India skipper MS Dhoni (24) hit the winning runs as his side secured victory with two balls remaining.

Aaron Finch of Australia celebrates making 150 runs during the 1st NatWest Series T20 match between England and Australia at Ageas Bowl on August 29, 2013
Read Next:
Australia set India 202 to win
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole