The 25-year-old suffered two point deductions from referee Joe Cooper, ultimately costing him the fight and his IBF and WBA light-welterweight titles.
However, the IBF have ruled that the official's decision did not affect the outcome.
"We found no discrepancies that would affect the outcome or the result of the fight," IBF championships chairman Lindsay Tucker said.
"We decided not to order an immediate rematch on the basis of the fact that in the rules, if the referee feels that it's a foul, then that's his call to take a point.
"He did warn Khan several times before he actually took the first point."
Khan has already set his sights on a rematch with Peterson.