Team England announce Rugby Sevens squad for Commonwealth Games

England name their Rugby Sevens team for the Commonwealth Games, with eight players due to make their debuts in Glasgow later this month.

Eight players will make their Commonwealth Games debuts in Glasgow later this month after being included in England's Rugby Sevens team.

As well as a number of new faces in the 12-man party, John Brake, Dan Norton, Tom Powell and James Rodwell are included following their experience in the 2010 Delhi Games.

Tom Mitchell, who finished last season as the highest point scorer, will lead the team after being made captain back in January, while eight members of the team were included in the side that finished third at the Marriott London Sevens in May.

Mitchell said: "Glasgow 2014 has been on the horizon for a long time and we've been working hard towards this one goal for a while. It's nice to know selection has now been made and we can start to get that extra bit of focus as the event draws near."

England have been placed in Pool D and will face Sri Lanka, Uganda and Australia on July 26 at Ibrox.

England team: Daniel Bibby, John Brake, Mark Bright, Philip Burgess, Michael Ellery, Charles Hayter, Christian Lewis-Pratt, Tom Mitchell, Daniel Norton, Tom Powell, James Rodwell, Marcus Watson

Serena Guthrie of England lines up a pass during the ZEO International Netball Tri Series match between England and Jamaica at Wembley Arena on January 18, 2014
Read Next:
Guthrie: 'England can reach CG final'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account