Sam Burgess named in England squad for Four Nations tournament

Sam Burgess named in England squad
© Getty Images
Sam Burgess is named in the England squad for the Four Nations tournament, three years since his last appearance.

Sam Burgess has been included in the England squad for the upcoming Four Nations tournament.

The 27-year-old has been selected for the national side for the first time since he returned to rugby league from union last year.

Burgess, who currently plays in Australia for the South Sydney Rabbitohs, has not appeared for England since the 2013 World Cup.

Head coach Wayne Bennett has also named four uncapped players, including Scott Taylor, Luke Gale, Mark Percival and Jonny Lomax.

Super League Player of the Year Danny Houghton has missed out on a place in the squad, with Daryl Clark and Josh Hodgson being preferred.

Injury has forced out Sean O'Loughlin, who captained the side in last year's series.

"To have Sam Burgess back is not just a boost for England but one for the international game," said Bennett. "Having worked with him in the past, he's a great bloke to have around and have by your shoulder on the field.

"Injuries are part and parcel of the game and to lose players like O'Loughlin, Tomkins and Currie isn't ideal but it does offer opportunities to others who have performed in the year and it's good to see some new and returning faces in the squad.

"There's some serious talent in this English side and that's testament to the England programme, the clubs they play for and the player's attitude in wanting to do their best each week. I've spoken to the boys and they're well aware what's ahead of them in this tournament."

England will begin their Four Nations campaign against New Zealand on October 29.

England 24-man squad:

John Bateman (Wigan Warriors); Kevin Brown (Widnes Vikings); George Burgess; Sam Burgess; Thomas Burgess (all South Sydney Rabbitohs); Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves); Mike Cooper (Warrington Wolves/St George-Illwarra Dragons); Liam Farrell (Wigan Warriors); Brett Ferres (Leeds Rhinos); Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers); James Graham (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs); Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos); Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves); Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders); Jonny Lomax (St Helens); Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants); Mark Percival (St Helens); Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves); Dan Sarginson (Wigan Warriors/Gold Coast Titans); Scott Taylor (Hull FC); Kallum Watkins (Leeds Rhinos); Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders); Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons); George Williams (Wigan Warriors)

New Rugby League generic
Read Next:
Bennett named England head coach
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole