Australia, New Zealand to host 2017 Rugby League World Cup

Australia and New Zealand are announced as the co-hosts of the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Australia and New Zealand have been announced as co-hosts of the 2017 Rugby League World Cup, edging out the only other bid from South Africa.

It will be the third time that the two Southern Hemisphere nations have staged the tournament together after they were co-hosts in 1968 and 1977.

Chairman of the bid committee and RLIF vice chairman Nigel Wood said: "This was not a simple decision but with fans of international rugby league buoyed by the recent success of [the 2013 World Cup], we were determined to get it right.

"Both bids were thoroughly compelling but the joint Australia-New Zealand bid was selected as the one with the greatest chance of success in providing more compelling games in world class environments in front of big, passionate crowds."

Australia staged the 2008 World Cup while the recent 2013 tournament was held in England and Wales, where the final, between Australia and New Zealand, at Old Trafford set a new international rugby league attendance of 74,468.

Kangaroos coach Tim Sheens speaks to the media during an Australian Kangaroos Rugby League World Cup teamphoto session at Crowne Plaza, Coogee on October 14, 2013
Read Next:
Tim Sheens hails "great" Australia
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account