Jose Maria Olazabal rules out standing for Ryder Cup captaincy again

Olazabal rules out future captaincy
© PA Photos
Europe's Ryder Cup-winning captain Jose Maria Olazabal insists that he will not retain his leading role for the tournament against the USA in two years' time.

Europe's Ryder Cup captain Jose Maria Olazabal has revealed that he will not stand for the captaincy in two years' time.

The Spaniard led his side to glory in Chicago over the weekend, despite being 10-6 down to the USA on the second day of the contest.

While some have called on the 46-year-old to captain Europe at Gleneagles in Scotland in 2014, Olazabal is adamant that he will not retain the role.

"I can assure that is going to be a no," Olazabal said in a press conference. "First of all it's a lot of work. It takes a lot of you during the stretch of time from when you're named captain to the playing of the Ryder Cup.

"On top of that there are a lot of players that should have the opportunity to be in my spot. It's played once every two years and there are a big number of players that have the chance to be in my position, so clearly I won't do it again."

The European team touched down in London today following their victory at Medinah.

Ian Poulter
Read Next:
Poulter: Olazabal is the "best captain I've ever seen"
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account