Tiger Woods receives two-shot penalty

Woods receives two-shot penalty
© AP Photos
Four-time champion Tiger Woods receives a two-shot penalty at The Masters.

World number one Tiger Woods has escaped a disqualification from this year's Masters in Augusta.

It had been reported that the American could be ejected from the competition over where he dropped the ball yesterday evening after his approach shot on the 15th hole had landed in the water after it had struck the flag.

Television replays showed that Woods had placed the ball two yards behind where he had taken the original shot, which would normally have resulted in an automatic disqualification for signing the wrong score card.

However, a rule change last year has instead resulted in the 37-year-old being handed a two-shot penalty for the offence.

That means that he will resume today on one under par - five shots behind leader Jason Day.

Lee Westwood
Read Next:
Westwood: "I did what I needed to do"
>
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account