Tiger Woods: 'I was right not to withdraw from the Masters'

Woods: 'I didn't consider withdrawing'
© AP Photos
Tiger Woods believes that he was right not to withdraw from the Masters following the controversy surrounding his two-shot penalty.

Tiger Woods has revealed that he did not consider withdrawing from the Masters before suffering a two-shot penalty on Saturday.

The world number one was punished for an illegal drop on the 15th hole during his second round but many people suggested that he should have been disqualified for breaking the rules.

However, Woods was quick to dismiss those claims shortly after his third round on Saturday evening.

"I got a text from my agent this morning saying 'Call me,'. It's never a good thing when that happens," said Woods. "They called me in, I got a two-shot penalty, time to play. I made a mistake, I took an improper drop and I got the penalty."

When asked if he considered withdrawing from the event, Woods replied: "No. Under the rules of golf I am abiding by the rules. They made the determination that nothing had happened on Friday and after what I said, things changed."

Sir Nick Faldo was one of the high profile names who believed that Woods should have been disqualified.

Tiger Woods after his fairway shot on the 15th hole hit the pin and rolled into the water on April 12, 2013
Read Next:
Faldo: 'Woods should have been disqualified'
>
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
LIVE SCORES VIDEPRINTER
expand