Two new teams accepted in Formula 1 for next season

F1 president Bernie Ecclestone confirms that two new teams have been accepted to compete next season.

Formula 1 president Bernie Ecclestone has confirmed that two new teams have been accepted to compete next season.

There are currently 11 teams that take part in the motorsport.

One new outfit is an American entry proposed by NASCAR team owner Gene Haas. The identity of the other has not been revealed.

"[Haas's] will be accepted," Ecclestone, 83, told reporters at the Bahrain Grand Prix.

"We've also accepted another team as well. Whether they'll make it or not is another story. We are happy to have another couple of teams."

A decision over whether to accept new teams was due to be made by the FIA on February 28.

Stewart-Haas Racing co-owner Gene Haas at a press conference during NASCAR Sprint Media Tour at Charlotte Convention Center on January 27, 2014
Read Next:
Haas 'aware of F1 challenges'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account