MX23RW : Saturday, June 22 14:42:44| >> :600:2938769:2938769:

Legal victory for Niki Lauda's widow over Lauda Foundation

Legal victory for Niki Lauda's widow over Lauda Foundation
© Reuters
Niki Lauda's widow has now resolved a legal conflict involving about 30 million euros from the late F1 icon's estate.

Niki Lauda's widow has now resolved a legal conflict involving about 30 million euros from the late F1 icon's estate.

The case surfaced a year ago, when Lauda's wife at the time of his 2019 death, Birgit Wetzinger, initiated legal action against the Lauda Foundation.

According to La Gazzetta dello Sport, 45-year-old Birgit has prevailed in the higher regional court of Vienna, granting her 16 percent of the triple world champion's estate.

The Lauda Foundation, backed by Lauda's children from his first marriage, Lukas and Mathias, filed an appeal.

The lawsuit alleged that Birgit was "unworthy of inheritance" because she concealed up to 50 priceless artworks and jewellery that originally belonged to Lauda, who passed away give years ago due to kidney failure.

One of the most valuable items was appraised at 1.4 million euros, but Birgit argued that she purchased many of the items herself.

The Kurier newspaper reported that the foundation also accused Birgit of making "massively false statements."

Judges in Vienna now need to determine the exact sum owed to Lauda's widow, which is reportedly believed to be a figure with "more than six zeroes."

ID:544028:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect1365:

Click here for more stories about Niki Lauda

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Red Bull team advisor Helmut Marko is seen before practice on March 8, 2024
Read Next:
Marko puzzled by Mercedes' extended F1 crisis
>
Read more about Niki Lauda Formula 1
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!