MX23RW : Tuesday, June 18 12:51:37| >> :600:105266:105266:

Bearman looks set to join Haas for 2025

Bearman looks set to join Haas for 2025
© Reuters
Oliver Bearman seems to be steadily advancing towards a permanent position with Haas for the 2025 racing season.

Oliver Bearman seems to be steadily advancing towards a permanent position with Haas for the 2025 racing season.

Recent developments reveal that Haas, the modest-sized American team, is set to part ways with its current standout German driver, Nico Hulkenberg, who is moving to the Audi-backed Sauber team.

Ayao Komatsu, the team boss, expressed that losing Hulkenberg is a significant setback. He remarked at Imola, "Of course we'll feel it," noting, "He's been providing us with an amazing reference, especially in a team like ours - not as big as those other guys." Komatsu also highlighted the uncertainty for the following year, saying, "And it really depends on who we're going to get for next year as well."

Kevin Magnussen, another seasoned driver on the team, has been lagging behind Hulkenberg since 2023 and is now facing a potential race ban due to his aggressive and controversial recent driving tactics.

Komatsu and Hulkenberg were even critical of Magnussen's performance in Miami, though Komatsu acknowledged Magnussen's intentions by saying, "In his mind, he was trying his best to help Nico," and added, "Whether we completely agree with that methodology or not is another matter."

Ralf Schumacher, a former F1 driver, recently expressed confidence that Haas would opt for another experienced driver in 2025, possibly Valtteri Bottas.

Nonetheless, 18-year-old Oliver Bearman, connected with Ferrari, is almost guaranteed a spot with Haas next year. Bearman made a strong impression this year filling in for the ill Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz and just completed his first of six practice sessions for 2024 at Imola on Friday.

When questioned about what it will take for Bearman to lock in a permanent seat for 2025, Komatsu said at Imola, "I think continue to deliver like this." He praised Bearman's performance, noting, "At first glance, we can't fault what he's done today. And that was the case last year when we ran him in two sessions as well." Komatsu concluded, "So, yeah, if he continues to perform like this, for sure, it's difficult to ignore."

ID:543962:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect2859:

Click here for more stories about Nico Hulkenberg

Click here for more stories about Haas

Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Alex Albon at the Hungarian GP on July 21, 2023
Read Next:
F1 drivers enter 'waiting game' in stalled silly season
>
rhs 2.0
Euro 2024 fixtures header
Tuesday, June 18
 
5pm
Wednesday, June 19
 
2pm
 
5pm
Thursday, June 20
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Group Stage
Spain
vs.
Italy
Friday, June 21
 
2pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 22
 
5pm
 
8pm
Sunday, June 23
 
8pm
 
8pm
Monday, June 24
 
8pm
 
8pm
Tuesday, June 25
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Wednesday, June 26
 
5pm
 
5pm
 
8pm
 
8pm
Saturday, June 29
Sunday, June 30
Monday, July 1
Tuesday, July 2
Friday, July 5
Saturday, July 6
Tuesday, July 9
Wednesday, July 10
Sunday, July 14


Sports Mole provides in-depth previews and predictions for every match from the biggest leagues and competitions in world football.
Argentina's Lionel Messi kisses the World Cup trophy after collecting the Golden Ball award on December 18, 2022Sign up for our FREE daily preview newsletter direct to your inbox!