Result: Three in a row for Lewis Hamilton in China

Lewis Hamilton wins for the third time in as many races by leading from start to finish to head a Mercedes one-two finish at the Chinese Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton displayed why he is the favourite for the Formula 1 title this season by recording his third win in succession at the Chinese Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes celebrates with a bottle of champagne after winning the F1 Chinese Grand Prix on April 20, 2014© AFP

The Britain still trails Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg in the standings, though, after the German secured a fourth straight podium finish by pipping Fernando Alonso, who completed the top three, to second.

Hamilton began on pole and led from start to finish, eventually passing the chequered flag 17 seconds ahead of Rosberg, who overtook Alonso on lap 41 of 56 at the Shanghai International Circuit.

The Spaniard did, though, hold off the challenge of Daniel Ricciardo, who found some excellent pace in the second half of the race on his way to bypassing Red Bull colleague Sebastian Vettel.

The four-time world champion had previously ignored team orders to let the Australian through as his frustrating start to his title defence continued with a fifth-place finish at an unhappy hunting ground.

There were more valuable early-season points for Force India's Nico Hulkenberg and Valtteri Bottas in the Williams as they placed sixth and seventh respectively, while Ferrari's first podium finish of the campaign was backed up by Kimi Raikkonen also getting on the scoreboard in eighth.

However, it was a poor day for McLaren as Jenson Button and Kevin Magnussen missed out on points altogether, with their former rider Sergio Perez and Daniil Kvyat completing the top 10.

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
3. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
5. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
6. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
7. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
9. Sergio Perez (Force India)
10. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
11. Jenson Button (McLaren)
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
13. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
14. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
15. Felipe Massa (Williams)
16. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
17. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)
18. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
19. Max Chilton (Marussia)
20. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)

Retired: Romain Grosjean (Lotus) Adrian Sutil (Sauber).

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 14, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Rosberg quickest in final practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.