Alastair Cook, Stuart Broad, Matt Prior in ICC Test team of the year

Cook, Broad, Prior in ICC Test team of the year
© PA Photos
Three England players and four South Africans are named in the ICC Test team of the year.

England trio Alastair Cook, Stuart Broad and Matt Prior have been named in the ICC Test team of the year.

The team is dominated by players from the top two Test nations England and South Africa, with four Proteas players named and a player each from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Australia - Michael Clark captaining the XI.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: "Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and well deserving of the recognition they receive as great cricketers of their era.

"The quality of the Test cricket played over the course of the year has been exceptional and I did not envy the selectors in their task of selecting the best. Congratulations to those who have made it. They make a formidable team."

ICC Test team of the year:

Alastair Cook (Eng)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Michael Clarke (Aus) (C)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Matt Prior (Eng) (Wk)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Saeed Ajmal (Pak)
Vernon Philander (SA)
Dale Steyn (SA)
12th Man - AB de Villiers (SA)

Share this article now:
Andrew Strauss
Read Next:
Trescothick "not surprised" by Strauss retirement
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account