Three Formula 1 teams 'plotting United States Grand Prix boycott'

Sebastian Vettel of Germany and Infiniti Red Bull Racing leads the field on lap one of the Korean Formula One Grand Prix at Korea International Circuit on October 6, 2013
© Getty Images
Lotus, Force India and Sauber are reportedly considering a boycott of Sunday's United States Grand Prix in protest at the current financial plight of the sport.

Three of Formula 1's smallest constructors have reportedly discussed the idea of boycotting this weekend's United States Grand Prix in protest at the financial collapse of two teams over the past week.

According to The Telegraph, Lotus, Force India and Sauber are all thought to be considering a plan to sit out Sunday's race at the Circuit of the Americas in Texas.

The alleged boycott plan comes after Marussia and Caterham both entered administration this week.

It is thought that the three teams are furious that the F1 backmarkers were allowed to go out of business by the sport's authorities and could now facilitate a similar walkout to that seen at the 2005 US GP in Indianapolis, which saw just six cars start the race.

Formula 1 ringmaster Bernie Ecclestone has also voiced concerns that just 14 cars could line up on the grid from next season, due to the current financial crisis.

Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes celebrates after qualifying in pole position for the F1 Chinese Grand Prix on April 19, 2014
Read Next:
Hamilton clinches pole for Russian Grand Prix
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0