Bernie Ecclestone: 'Formula 1 could lose more teams in 2015'

Sebastian Vettel of Germany and Infiniti Red Bull Racing leads the field on lap one of the Korean Formula One Grand Prix at Korea International Circuit on October 6, 2013
© Getty Images
Formula 1 could see just 14 cars racing from next season, according to Bernie Ecclestone.

Formula 1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone has warned that as few as 14 cars could line up on the grid next season, if more teams are forced to quit the sport due to financial problems.

On Monday, Marussia became the second team to go into administration in the space of a week after Caterham's money problems came to a head seven days ago.

However, Ecclestone has hinted that more constructors could be in danger of disappearing from the paddock from 2015.

He told Sky Sports News: "It could go down to 14. If we lose another two teams that is what will happen. I can't predict if it won't or it will. But if it is 18, no drama at all.

"We need them [smaller teams] if they are going to be there performing properly and not moving around with begging buckets."

One suggestion has been for the more established teams to run three cars from next season, while Gene Haas's new F1 outfit isn't expected to compete until 2016.

F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone at Monza, Italy on September 8, 2013
Read Next:
Ecclestone: 'Las Vegas wants an F1 race'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0