Chris Froome to lead Team Sky in Tour de France, Sir Bradley Wiggins out

Team Sky confirm that Chris Froome will lead the at Tour de France, while Sir Bradley Wiggins is out of the team.

Team Sky manager Sir Dave Brailsford has confirmed that defending Tour de France champion Chris Froome will be lead rider in this year's elite race, while Sir Bradley Wiggins has been left out of the team.

The Olympic champion, who became the first Brit to earn the yellow jersey in 2012, revealed earlier this month that he was unlikely to ride this year.

Froome, who took the crown from his teammate last year, will head the nine-man lineup, alongside Richie Porte, Geraint Thomas, Mikel Nieve, Bernhard Eisel, Vasil Kiryienka, David Lopez, Danny Pate and Xabier Zandio.

"In elite sport, selection is one of the most difficult parts," Froome told Sky Sports News. "From our point of view, we start by looking at what's the outcome we want to achieve - we've got to try to win.

"You build a team based on evidence, based on logic - you try to take the emotion out of it."

The 101st edition of the Tour de France will begin with the Grand Depart in Yorkshire on July 5.

Team Sky
Read Next:
Team Sky name nine Tour de France riders
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account