ICC reverses World Cup team reduction

The ICC backtracks on a previous decision to reduce the number of teams in the 2015 World Cup from 14 to 10.

The International Cricket council has reversed a previous decision to reduce the number of teams in the 2015 World Cup from 14 to 10.

The board came to the original decision last October amid criticism that the tournament was too long.

Today's announcement means that four associate nations will join the ten full members - Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe - in the next cup, which is being held in Australia and New Zealand.

Ireland are favourites to secure a place, while Scotland, Holland, Canada and Kenya are among the other nations who will be jockeying for a spot.

The ICC also announced that the World Twenty20 tournaments in 2012 and 2014 would be cut back to 12 teams, while the 2019 World Cup would be a ten-team tournament, comprising eight on direct rankings and two from qualifiers.

Share this article now:
Generic cricket image
Read Next:
Dilshan ruled out of third Sri Lanka Test
>

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Select and display your favourite team's news and scores in this panel

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Select and display your favourite team's news and scores in this panel

Subscribe to our Newsletter


Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Select and display your favourite team's news and scores in this panel
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account