Result: Sri Lanka end hoodoo to win World T20

Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene bow out of their one-day careers on a high-note as Sri Lanka beat India to win the World T20.

Sri Lanka have won the World T20 final after beating India by six wickets in Dhaka this afternoon.

Sri Lanka cricketer Kumar Sangakkara leaps into the air as he celebrates the victory during the ICC World Twenty20 cricket final match between India and Sri lanka at The Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on April 6, 2014© Getty Images

Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene bowed out of their T20 careers in style as their side banished memories of four major final defeats in seven years.

Sangakkara (52) led the scoring by registering a half-century after India set a modest target of 130 after their innings - their lowest total in the competition.

Jayawardene (24) and Thisara Perera (23) also weighed in with impressive contributions at the crease to deny India from holding all of the ICC one-day trophies at the same time.

MS Dhoni's side lost the toss and were sent in to bat first. Virat Kohli, who registered an unbeaten 72 in the semi-final win over South Africa, surpassed that total this afternoon and recorded an impressive 77 before being run out.

There were lesser contributions at the crease, though, as Ajinkya Rahane (3) and Yuvraj Singh (11) fell early on to wickets from Angelo Matthews and Nuwan Kulasekara respectively.

Sri Lanka fast bowler Lasith Malinga reacts after taking the wicket of India batsman Sachin Tendulkar during the ICC Cricket World Cup Final on April 2, 2011
Read Next:
Result: Sri Lanka edge out India
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account