Result: Nick Kyrgios sets up Roger Federer clash after seeing off Novak Djokovic

Nick Kyrgios in action at the French Open on May 27, 2016
Nick Kyrgios ends Novak Djokovic's 19-match winning streak at Indian Wells with a 6-4 7-6(3) victory in the BNP Paribas fourth round on Wednesday.

Nick Kyrgios has ended Novak Djokovic's 19-match winning streak at the BNP Paribas Open with a 6-4 7-6(3) victory in the fourth round at Indian Wells on Wednesday.

The world number two, a five-time champion of the tournament who had claimed the last three titles in the California desert, had not lost in the competition since 2013.

However, Kyrgios was relentless as he sent down 14 aces, which included second serves close to 120mph, won 85% of points on his first serve, and faced no break points.

Djokovic was afforded no break-point opportunities in the second set and fended off two from Kyrgios in the 11th game to force a tie-break.

The Australian dominated, though, clocking one serve at 141mph, and closing it out with another huge serve that Djokovic could not return.

It was Kyrgios's second win over Djokovic in two weeks as he also emerged triumphant in straight sets over him at Acapulco's Mexican Open on March 2.

Roger Federer will be awaiting the 21-year-old in the quarter-finals after the Swiss saw off Rafael Nadal in their last-16 match.

Andy Murray in action at the US Open on August 30, 2016
Read Next:
Murray avoids star names in Indian Wells draw
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,465
3Switzerland Roger Federer6,545
4Serbia Novak Djokovic6,325
5Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka6,140
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,075
7Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
8Japan Kei Nishikori3,740
9Canada Milos Raonic3,310
10Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,160
11Alexander Zverev3,160
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,805
13France Gael Monfils2,775
14Belgium David Goffin2,605
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,570
16Pablo Carreno Busta2,350
17United States Jack Sock2,290
18Lucas Pouille2,255
19Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,245
20Australia Nick Kyrgios1,940