Mark Allen fumes at referee

Mark Allen says that the referee not calling a "blatant" foul is "sad" for the state of snooker.

Mark Allen has accused Cao Yupeng of a "blatant" foul during his World Championship first-round exit.

The Northern Irishman was dumped out by the 81st-ranked Chinese player 10-7 at the Crucible.

After the match, the world number 11 player raged at the match referee, who he believed to have missed a push shot.

Allen has caused further controversy by claiming that cheating if rife among Chinese players.

"The referee missed a blatant push. It was obvious to me and anyone watching at home would have been able to see it, no problem," said the 26-year-old. "Cao looked at the referee as soon as he did it, as if to say, 'are you not calling a foul here?'

"It seems to be a bit of a trait for the Chinese players because there have been a few instances in the past of fouls and blatant cheating going on. It needs to be corrected. He's a good enough player that he doesn't have to do that.

"It's very, very sad for the state of snooker if it has to be down to that."

A World Snooker spokesman has confirmed that the matter is under investigation.

Ali Carter in action against Mark Selby during the second round of The Dafabet World Snooker Championship at Crucible Theatre on April 25, 2014
Read Next:
Allen dumped out at the Crucible
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account