England squad named for Champions Trophy

England name an 18-man squad to compete at the Champions Trophy that takes place in India in December.

England head coach Bobby Crutchley has recalled Tim Whiteman, Tom Carson and Paddy Smith for the Champions Trophy in December.

The trio missed the Commonwealth Games in the summer, but Crutchley has named the three players alongside the uncapped Chris Griffiths for the tournament in India.

Crutchley is quoted by BBC Sport as saying: "The tournament sets us against the best teams in the world and allows us to give new players an opportunity to play at the very top.

"It will be interesting to see the new system of four quarters over 60 minutes in place for the first time at a major tournament."

England have been drawn against Australia, Belgium and Pakistan, while the other group consists of India, Argentina, Netherlands and Germany.

Squad in full: Alastair Brogdon, Tom Carson, Nick Catlin, David Condon, Adam Dixon, Mark Gleghorne, Chris Griffiths, Michael Hoare, Ashley Jackson, Iain Lewers, Harry Martin, Barry Middleton, George Pinner, Phil Roper, Patrick Smith, Henry Weir, Tim Whiteman

A picture of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games logo on June 7, 2014
Read Next:
Team England suffer five casualties
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account