Alberto Contador wins fourth Velo d'Or

Alberto Contador wins a record fourth Velo d'Or title.

Spain's Alberto Contador has claimed a record fourth Velo d'Or title after taking nine professional wins this season, including the general classification at the Vuelta a Espana.

The award, which is voted for by cycling journalists, was created in 1992 and is run by Velo Magazine. It recognises the rider judged to have performed the best over the year.

Contador, 31, previously won the title in three consecutive seasons between 2007 and 2009.

The Tinkoff-Saxo rider beat Alejandro Valverde, who came second, and Tour de France 2014 winner Vincenzo Nibali, who finished third, to the award.

Alejandro Valverde of Spain and Team Movistar sprays cava during the podium ceremony after winning the Clasica San Sebastian on August 2, 2014
Read Next:
Valverde takes World Tour lead
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account