ICC to reconsider Cricket World Cup changes

Sharad Pawar asks the ICC’s executive board to rethink the composition of the 2015 World Cup.

Sharad Pawar has given some hope to nations including Ireland, who may yet be able to compete in the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

The International Cricket Council revealed earlier this month that there would be a change of composition for the next competition. The new format would render only the ten full member nations to participate in the tournament.

This would deny countries such as Ireland - who triumphed against England in this year’s 14-team cup - the chance to compete, removing the qualification round which gives tens of nations the opportunity to face off against the member teams. The member nations comprise England, Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, New Zealand, West Indies and Zimbabwe.

In response to dissatisfaction over the move, Sharad Pawar has vowed to consider the matter further at the executive board’s annual conference in June. "I can understand the views of the associates and affiliates and ICC will seek to deal with this issue in the best way possible," he said in a statement.

An ICC statement added: “After receiving representations from the associate and affiliate members of the ICC, the ICC President Mr Sharad Pawar has decided to request the ICC Executive Board to revisit the issue in Hong Kong in June."

You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account