Tillakaratne Dilshan has been ruled out of England’s final Test against Sri Lanka due to a broken right thumb.
The recently-appointed captain sustained the injury in the drawn second Test last week, when England fast bowler Chris Tremlett struck it twice. He was unable to bat during the second innings of the leg.
“Dilshan is unable to play in the upcoming Test match because of his injury,” said tour manager Anura Tennekoon. “On medical advice we’ve been advised to keep him out because if he receives another blow he could be out for a long time.”
Andrew Strauss’s team will aim to maintain their 1-0 lead at the third Test at the Rose Bowl on Thursday.