MX23RW : Saturday, June 19 06:04:06| >> :120:63895:63895:

Ireland, Afghanistan handed Test status by ICC

The ICC announces that both Ireland and Afghanistan have been awarded Test status, taking the total nations in the five-day game from 10 to 12.

Ireland and Afghanistan have both been awarded full Test status by the ICC.

It has been 17 years since Bangladesh became the 10th nation to be allowed to compete in the five-day format of the game, but a vote was carried out by ICC members to decide whether two more international sides could become full members.

The results revealed that the panel had unanimously decided to give both nations the green light to step up from the one-day arena.

Ireland have been on the international radar since 2007 when they reached the Super 8 at the World Cup, and they have a record of seven wins from 22 matches in the history of the tournament.

They have also featured at the last five Twenty20 World Cups, but have only progressed past the group stages on one occasion in five attempts.

As for Afghanistan, they made their first appearance at the 50-over World Cup in 2015, while they claimed a victory over West Indies at the 2016 Twenty20 World Cup.

ID:301014: cacheID:301014:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:1735:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
England celebrate taking the wicket of Shahid Afridi during the 3rd International T20 match between Pakistan and England at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on November 30, 2015 in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates.
Read Next:
England to face New Zealand in last four
Read more about Ireland Afghanistan Cricket

rhs 2.0
Euro 2020 fixtures
Saturday, June 19, 2021
Saturday, June 19, 2021
Sunday, June 20, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021
Todays Game Header Right
European Championship

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!