Result: Garbine Muguruza thrashes Magdalena Rybarikova to reach Wimbledon final

Garbine Muguruza of Spain celebrates victory in her Ladies' Singles Fourth Round match against Caroline Wozniacki of Denmark during day seven of the Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Championships at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club on July 6, 2015
© Getty Images
Garbine Muguruza beats Magdalena Rybarikova in straight sets to reach the Wimbledon final.

Garbine Muguruza has thrashed Magdalena Rybarikova to reach the final at Wimbledon for the second time.

In 2015, Muguruza lost out to Serena Williams in her first ever Grand Slam final, but she has given herself an opportunity to make amends at SW19 after an highly-impressive 6-1 6-1 triumph over unseeded Rybarikova.

Muguruza has dropped down the world rankings during 2017, but she has enjoyed a terrific campaign at Wimbledon and that continued on Friday afternoon as she conceded just two games to a player who has won two grass-court tournaments in recent weeks.

During the opening set, the Spaniard broke serve on two occasions and dropped just eight points behind her own serve as she coasted to the opener in just half an hour.

The 23-year-old increased her dominance in the second as Rybarikova failed to make any impact whatsoever in her return games, and three more breaks of serve were enough to seal her place in Saturday's final.

Muguruza will meet either Johanna Konta or Venus Williams as she bids to add to the French Open crown she won last year.

Andy Murray celebrates during his match against Juan Martin del Potro at the French Open in June 3, 2017
Read Next:
Murray challenges 'sexist' question
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,465
3Switzerland Roger Federer6,545
4Serbia Novak Djokovic6,325
5Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka6,140
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,075
7Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
8Japan Kei Nishikori3,740
9Canada Milos Raonic3,310
10Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,160
11Alexander Zverev3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,805
13Belgium David Goffin2,605
14Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,570
15Pablo Carreno Busta2,350
16France Gael Monfils2,275
17Lucas Pouille2,255
18Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,245
19United States Jack Sock2,245
20United States John Isner2,045