Result: Johanna Konta out of Wimbledon as Venus Williams reaches final

Johanna Konta of Great Britain looks down in her match against Karolina Pliskova on March 15, 2016
© Getty Images
Venus Williams defeats Johanna Konta to reach her first Wimbledon singles final since 2009.

Great Britain's Johanna Konta has been knocked out of Wimbledon at the semi-final stage following a straight-sets defeat to Venus Williams.

The American 10th seed played superbly to win 6-4 6-2 on Centre Court and set up a final - her first in the tournament's singles competition since 2009 - against Spain's Garbine Muguruza.

Konta, playing in only her second major semi-final, squandered two opportunities to break her opponent's serve in the ninth game.

The 37-year-old veteran then broke the home favourite in the final game to take the opening set 6-4 after 38 minutes.

Konta continued to struggle as Williams broke her opponent's resistance in the fourth game of the second set before a solid hold of serve enabled her to inch closer to victory.

The Briton then fell 0-40 down to offer up three set points in game 10, firing a backhand long on the second, and Williams got the decisive break at 3-1 in the second.

Konta could only watch as Williams became the oldest Wimbledon finalist since Martina Navratilova in 1994 by arrowing a forehand past her down the line on her third match point.

Andy Murray celebrates during his match against Juan Martin del Potro at the French Open in June 3, 2017
Read Next:
Murray challenges 'sexist' question
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,465
3Switzerland Roger Federer6,545
4Serbia Novak Djokovic6,325
5Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka6,140
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,075
7Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
8Japan Kei Nishikori3,740
9Canada Milos Raonic3,310
10Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,160
11Alexander Zverev3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,805
13Belgium David Goffin2,605
14Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,570
15Pablo Carreno Busta2,350
16France Gael Monfils2,275
17Lucas Pouille2,255
18Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,245
19United States Jack Sock2,245
20United States John Isner2,045